fees, RV limits, trails & mountain biking

Camp Meade RV Park

Military campground (Army) on Fort Meade, near Fort Meade, Maryland. Not open to the general public: see who can use military campgrounds.

RV sites, Camper cabins, Group campingcamping types
301-677-6196phone (from the official page)
Veteran access not stated: call ahead2020 expanded access
Verified by hand against the official pages linked beside each fact, on Oct 19, 2026. We are not affiliated with the Department of Defense or any MWR program. Rates and rules change: confirm with the campground before you go.

Facts from the official page

Sites
50 sites with 60-ft hardstands and tent pads, 3 designed for accessibility; back-in and pull-through. Camper cabins (sleep 6). source
Hookups
Electric (110 V, 20/30/50 A), sewer and water. Cable TV, coin laundry and showers. source
Rates
The fee table lists RV back-in and pull-through at $65/day (one tent free on the same site), primitive cabin $65, group camping $125. The page summary still says "$60 daily" for RV spaces. source
Reservations
By phone (301-677-6196) or in person at Outdoor Recreation; online request form available. Peak season (Apr 1–Nov 15): 60 days for active duty, 30 days for others. source
Season
Open year-round. source
Base access
Enter at the Reece Road gate (open 24/7). Visitor information is on the Fort Meade garrison site. source

Unverified, call ahead

  • RV rate: $60 or $65 (the page shows both).
  • Eligibility for expanded-access veterans is not stated on the page; call ahead.

We could not confirm these on an official page, so we leave them blank rather than guess. Call 301-677-6196.

If you don't have a DoD ID card

Under the 2020 expanded-access rule (32 CFR 225.4), veterans with a VA service-connected disability rating, Purple Heart recipients, former POWs and VA-designated primary family caregivers may use MWR recreational lodging and RV campgrounds. To get on a base, enroll at the installation's visitor center on your first visit, using a VHIC or REAL ID and passing an on-the-spot background check. At check-in, show a VHIC that lists your eligibility status, or a VA letter plus REAL ID. Guests can travel with you but must clear the visitor center themselves (DoD transition plan, Feb 2026).

For this campground: the official page doesn't say whether expanded-access patrons can book. Unverified, call ahead before you drive to the gate.

Full guide: who can use military campgrounds →

Map: trails and roads nearby

Map of roads, water and trails within about 5 miles of Camp Meade RV Park
Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL), drawn by us from OSM extracts. The map covers about 15 × 10 miles. Pin location: OpenStreetMap feature "Camp Meade RV Park". Bike trail colors come only from OSM difficulty tags (purple = unrated). Trails on a military installation may be closed to visitors. Not for navigation.

Loads MapLibre with OpenFreeMap tiles only when you tap.

Trails nearby (from our data)

4.9 miles of bike-legal trail are mapped in OpenStreetMap within 5 miles of the pin. Some may be on the installation and closed to visitors.

TrailClosest pointMiles within 5 miDifficulty (as tagged)
Fox Den Loop2.7 mi0.5Unrated
Wood Duck Way2.7 mi0.5Unrated
Peninsula Loop Inner2.8 mi0.1Unrated
Peninsula Loop Outer2.8 mi0.1Unrated
Piney Path2.9 mi0.1Unrated
B2 Spur2.9 mi0.4Unrated
Heron Loop3.0 mi0.3Unrated
Mosquito Highway3.0 mi0.9Unrated
Brambleway3.0 mi0.1Unrated
Rutland3.0 mi0.3Unrated

Ratings come only from OpenStreetMap mtb:scale and IMBA tags. Untagged trails show as unrated; we never guess.

Public campgrounds nearby

These are open to everyone, in case you aren't eligible or the military campground is full.

CampgroundMilesStateFee/nightSitesHookupsMax RVPetsBookingTrails ≤5 mi
Washington DC / Capitol KOA Holiday Cabins
KOA
4.7MD—— E yes— Reserve0
Pine Tree Associates
OpenStreetMap listing
9.2MD—— — —— ?0
Hilton Area Family Camping
Maryland Department of Natural Resources
10.8MD—12 — —— Reserve0
Greenbelt Campground
Greenbelt Park
11.7MD—157 — 45 ftyes Reserve5 (8.5 mi)
Greenbelt Park Ranger Station
Greenbelt Park
12.1MD—— — —— First-come6 (8.7 mi)
Cherry Hill Park Cabins
OpenStreetMap listing
12.5MD—— E yes— Reserve5 (8.5 mi)

Hookups: E = electric (max amps), W = water, S = sewer. "—" means the agency doesn't publish it. Trail counts are named USFS/NPS trails within 5 miles. 🟢 = kid-friendly (green-rated) bike trail nearby.